PDA

View Full Version : Experiences with Satellite broadband



BigSpud
9th September 2005, 05:50 AM
I mentioned this in another thread. Maybe some of you have done one of these and could mention your experiences? Skyway, DirecTV, Wild Blue, Starband, DataStorm and/or ??


...

Actually, maybe I will solicit experiences with Satellite based broadband from the members here.

Thanks,

Spud

willow
9th September 2005, 06:41 AM
Never tried it myself, but from what I hear the latency is awful. Also, there's the question of still needing an uplink, which is usually over a phone line.

Still, if you can't get DSL or cable where you are now, then I guess you don't have much choice :(

BigSpud
9th September 2005, 12:34 PM
Actually, there are satellite systems requiring no phone line. 2way systems have to be installed professionally because there is a transmitter involved.

I have a neighbor with DirecWay and they don't like it. I have used it and briefly and wasn't crazy about the speed considering the $100 per month for the first year to pay for the equipment. I think it drops to like $70 after that. I was wondering if any other vendors were better or worse.

Luxman
9th September 2005, 12:43 PM
I think broadband availability should have been a criteria for chosing your new home. :)

Lxm

arsby
9th September 2005, 05:12 PM
I'm with Luxman. Ditch the family and get broadband. :)

BigSpud
9th September 2005, 06:32 PM
I think broadband availability should have been a criteria for chosing your new home. :)

LxmIt was, but not for very long. :)

SpiffyZippy
9th September 2005, 09:25 PM
Comcast offers good broadband for about $44 per month (intro for 6 mos is about 29) and you dont have to worry about rain storm blackouts with satelite

and you can take advantage of better quality video offerings with broadband, you can download large files in minimal time

its so much better than dial up (costs about twice as much as dial up assuming you have a second dedicated phone line)

BigSpud
10th September 2005, 12:08 AM
Unfortunately, Comcast has no services in my area according to their website.

arsby
10th September 2005, 12:50 AM
Then maybe you should try satellite! :D

BigSpud
10th September 2005, 04:08 AM
Then maybe you should try satellite! :DAre you familiar with the song "There's a Hole in the Bucket"?

It is a good thing I am patient!

willow
14th September 2005, 06:00 AM
Don't know why you'd bother with satellite when there's this (http://www.notes.co.il/benbasat/5240.asp).

BigSpud
14th September 2005, 08:03 AM
Don't know why you'd bother with satellite when there's this (http://www.notes.co.il/benbasat/5240.asp).Based on your post, I have signed up. After I gave them my CC info, I got the instructions (in Hebrew!). Oh well, it was a good idea.

Thanks and you are right no need for satellite.

:)

willow
14th September 2005, 08:18 AM
Based on your post, I have signed up. After I gave them my CC info, I got the instructions (in Hebrew!). Oh well, it was a good idea.
Well, if it doesn't work out for you, you can always use the components for something else (http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/pigeonpie_8159.shtml) :)

BigSpud
14th September 2005, 02:49 PM
Well, if it doesn't work out for you, you can always use the components for something else (http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/pigeonpie_8159.shtml) :)ROTF-LMAO
:D :D