Mac OS X Leopard 10.5

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mac OS X Leopard 10.5

I am about to change from stripes to spots...

The new version of Mac OS X arrived this morning. I have never done a Mac upgrade before, in the past I bought new Macs with the new OS pre installed.

So I will experiment on my Mac Mini.

L

Have fun with it.

In my eyes there are very good new features (I love TimeMachine) but some other are overkill.

Lxm

Comment

Well the upgrade was a total non-event, it has just worked!

It looks lovely, and I really wanted Time Machine, which will replace Super Duper.

So people if your thinking of the upgrade, go for it!

(Why can't Microsoft make upgrades this easy?)

L

Comment

Originally posted by Lesley View Post

L
        It's in their corporate DNA: If we have to bust ass writing code for our products, then it's only right that customers must bust ass installing/upgrading them.

Comment

Well the upgrade was a total non-event, it has just worked!

It looks lovely, and I really wanted Time Machine, which will replace Super Duper.

So people if your thinking of the upgrade, go for it!

L
          I would imagine that it's not as easy to do for Microsoft. Macs have very limited hardware configurations, whereas Wintel machines have millions of possible hardware/software combinations. Trying to design an OS that works with that many combinations has to present a lot of problems.

Comment

Out of curiosity, which type of upgrade did you do? Archive & install, format and clean install or the upgrade?

Comment

Originally posted by ruben72 View Post
              Out of curiosity, which type of upgrade did you do? Archive & install, format and clean install or the upgrade?
              The install was the UPGRADE

L

Comment

Originally posted by dekoda View Post